The School has Bachelor, Master and Doctoral programs in journalism and communication.

There are three academic departments

  • Journalism and New Media
  • Applied Communication
  • Radio, Film and Television

There are seven research centers and institutes

  • Institute of Journalism and Politics
  • Institute of Communication and Society
  • Center for Internet Communication
  • Institute of Visual Culture
  • Center for Urban Image Studies
  • Institute of Chinese Visual Communication
  • Nanjing University-Ogilvy Creativity Research Institute

Other teaching and research platforms based in the School include

  • The National Teaching Demonstration Center
  • Jiangsu Province Philosophy and Social Sciences Research Base,
  • Center for Collaborative Studies of South China Sea-Communication Sector
  • Chinese Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication.